Fudgy Brownies

Last night I was craving chocolate, since as a single woman I didn’t receive chocolates from a lover for Valentines’ day.  I wanted a recipe that I could easily make grain free, so it wouldn’t upset my system but would still satisfy my craving.  This is a great recipe because it only calls for 1/2 c. of flour.  I used almond flour, which is quite expensive, so the small amount is much easier to swallow than several cups.

brownies

4 oz unsweetened chocolate

1/2 c. (1 stick) butter

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 eggs

1 1/4 c. sugar

1/4 tsp salt

1/2 c. flour (standard wheat flour is what the original calls for here, but really any type of flour would work.  a good AP GF flour blend would be fine.  I like almond flour for this application.)

Melt the chocolate and butter in a medium saucepan over low heat.  When melted and smooth, remove from heat and allow to cool slightly.  Mix in sugar, eggs, vanilla, and salt.  Then add the flour and mix well.

Pour batter into a greased and floured 8×8″ baking pan and bake in a pre-heated 350 degree oven for about 35-40 minutes, until a toothpick comes out barely clean.

The original suggests you cut them into two inch squares… that feels a bit overzealous to me.  9 to a pan sounds about right.

Leave a Reply

