Grain Free Cookies

I just finished my first batch of grain free cookies and they were an unqualified success.  I can’t even tell you how happy I am right now.  I started with a standard sugar cookie recipe that I love, and made some alterations.  The end result is this:

Please do no lick the screen.

Please do no lick the screen.

And yes I used leftover mini-m&m’s I got on clearance from Christmas time, don’t judge me.  :p  These aren’t strictly Paleo, but I don’t really care about the refined sugar part of it.

Sugar Drop Cookies

1 1/4 c. sugar

1 c. butter at room temp

3 egg yolks

2 tsp vanilla extract

1 c. coconut flour

1 c. almond flour

1/2 c. tapioca starch

1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. cream of tartar

1/4 tsp. salt

1/3 c. coarse sugar crystals or 1 c. mini m&m’s

Preheat oven to 350 F.

Cream together butter and sugar.  Add in egg yolks one at a time, followed by vanilla.  Mix until well combined.

Sift together flours, starch, baking soda, cream of tartar, and salt.  Add to butter/egg mixture and mix until well combined.

Use a cookie scoop to portion out cookies (about 1.5 inch balls) and roll just the tops in the m&m’s (or the whole thing in the sugar), you may have to press the candies into the dough.  Bake about 12 per standard cookie sheet.  Press down slightly onto the pan so it’s more like a thick disk rather than a ball of dough.

Bake about 12 minutes.  Allow to cool on cookie sheets 5 minutes before transferring to cooling racks or stomach.  Try not to eat the entire batch yourself.  Go on, try it.  🙂

 

I’m quite excited to have these lovelies grace my lunch box this week.  They’re just as light, and chewy as can be.  There is a mild coconut flavor to them, which I don’t find unpleasant at all.  In fact, I think it adds to the charm of these fantastic cookies.  Now if you’ll excuse me, I have a plate of cookies getting cold on the counter and I need to warm them up in my tummy.  😉

 

Leave a Reply

